hotels reviews in colchester essex

A collection of reviews from guests who have stayed with us:

Bailiesusan – 9th November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Tranquil setting, beautiful country house hotel set in beautiful grounds.  Just spent overnight with my husband in this beautiful country House Hotel/Spa. Our room was a standard double,enjoying views over fields and the duck pond complete with swans.Beautiful crisp white Bed linen, very comfortable. Room was cosy but full of charm. Excellent ensuite. Very spacious and modern. Bath with shower over. Water lovely and hot and shower pressure excellent. Towels were provided. Small t.v. In the room which was perfectly adequate for our needs. Room was very warm and cosy. We made full use of the spa facilities which included heated swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Beauty treatments available at extra cost obviously but best massage had for long time. Thank you goes to Sam. Pedicure and facial all rounded my relaxing time. Food was very good as well. Breakfast was served in the main hotel which again was fantastic. Choice of full English, vegetarian options, eggs Benedict etc., also continental with fruit, cereal, toasts, croissants, pastries ooh the list goes on. Excellent. Plenty of places to find a quiet corner for after dinner drinks. Enjoy

TrevorTHammond – 9th November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Amazing hotel, spa, restaurant, bistro, tennis club, the list goes on!….

I’ve stayed here on numerous occasions and completely love everything about it.
On my first visit I had a dinner with my parents. It was one of their special themed events with scenes from Fawlty Towers being acted out during the dinner. It was like being in the TV program and the actors were awesome. After this visit, I had a spa day with massage, facial, brunch and swam and played tennis. I also had an introductory Real Tennis lesson and have been hooked ever since!
I strongly recommend all the facilities at Prested Hall and would encourage anyone to visit!

Room Tip: Rooms to suit everyone, including families with family suites and 2 bedroom apartments.

Chris W – 2nd November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Amazing stay.  Most relaxed I’ve felt in a long time and the bed wow!!!!!! The staff were very friendly and the food was delivered to our door. I really can’t thank Prested enough. We used the spa in the morning and again it was clean and well worth the visit we shall be staying again soon!

Carolyne S –  26th October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Birthday party for Nanna.  I want to say a massive thank you to all the staff at Prested Hall. The setting is stunning, the service was so very attentive and the tea was amazing.
It looked so beautiful on the plates 
The string trio playing was a perfect accompaniment to the afternoon. We had a table near the window so had a gorgeous view of the moat. It’s definitely one of the best teas I’ve had.

Lisa C – 20 October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I’ve just returned from my second stay this year at Prested Hall and would certainly recommend it.
I booked a three night break. with a friend. During our stay we had a lovely pamper day in the spa using all the facilities on offer. We ate in the Bistro for both lunch and dinner, had breakfast in the hotel and afternoon tea on the day we arrived. We were offered a wide choice of food, all of which was faultless.
Every member of staff without exception were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. 
Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day. All areas of the hotel spotless.
With lots to do in the surrounding area, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Prested Hall and certainly plan to return again soon.

Becky G – 20 October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

My partner booked this for my birthday, wow! Was really impressed as soon as we drove up the long drive. 
Found all the staff to be really friendly and our room was beautiful, with the biggest bed I have ever slept in! The bathroom was lovely with an enormous bath, the room had all the little extra’s I like, bathrobes, slippers, tea/coffee facility.  Fresh flowers in the room were also lovely. 
We stayed on a DBB basis, although it would have been nice to have dinner in the actual hotel it was only a short walk to the leisure centre where we had a 3 course meal, delicious. Breakfast was really good too, the usual cereals, croissants, yougurts and fruit were laid out and a menu for cooked breakfast, both impressed with our cooked breakfasts.  I imagine a wedding here would be stunning.  I would highly recommend.

Maureen B – 30th September via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Great venue, never had a bad experience! Have been there a number of times, from Weddings and my husband’s 70th, to a Fawlty Towers Night. The food is always excellent, as is the service. The location is lovely and they have kept many features of this old building. They have accommodation, a Bistro and a sports cementer/swimming pool. Plenty of parking. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Chauntel B – 29 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Arrived at the hotel to be greeting by very friendly staff who then took us to our 2 bedroom apartment for the weekend. The apartment was spacious and immaculate. Even though there was a wedding taking place we did not feel neglected as guests. Brunch was included in the price and the menu had a wide variety to choose from. The food quality was very good and kitchen staff were very accommodating. I would recommend Pressed Hall to families and couples. Overall an excellent experience.

Espinavessa – 29 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We enjoyed a lovely meal, with the ‘murder mystery’ being acted out between courses. It was very entertaining and a very different dining experience! We all really enjoyed the evening.
Prested Hall is a lovely small country hotel – beautiful rooms in a very quirky layout. Very pleasant grounds with a spa in a separate building .My granddaughter is getting married there in November and its a perfect venue for a wedding. We went to the wedding breakfast trial evening, and the food was excellent and the portions generous. 
Prested Hall is highly recommended by all our family.

Lynn C – 4 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have stayed here a few times now, in different rooms each time, and all have been lovely. The one bedroom apartment I had this time was bright, spacious, clean and very comfortable.
I have previously stayed in a room in the old hall which was full of character (beams and sloping floors) and in the Dingle – a detached cottage room which felt like something out of a fairy story! Service is excellent and food in the leisure club is very good. Lovely grounds for a stroll too and leisure facilities which I haven’t yet sampled. As a lone traveler this is a very comfortable place to stay.

Linda – 4 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We have stayed a Prested Hall on several occasions, the rooms are wonderful with lovely comfortable beds, the bathrooms are large and really nice, for breakfast there is everything you could want, from a selection of hot dishes to pastries and cereals.  The spa treatments are excellent. The food is outstanding.

Emma E – 24 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I just stayed here with some friends for a spa break and i cannot fault this place at all. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, the spa treatments we had were great and if you stay you get a extra 20% off the price which made the cost really resonable.
Our apartment was clean and tidy and the bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in! Would recommend this place to anyone and will be going back, hopefully soon!

north0072 – 23 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have now visited prested hall twice and on both occasions I have had beautiful rooms and excellent food.
The leisure complex is also great for food.
I will definetly be staying again, the hotel is set in such beautiful surroundings

599Jane – 10 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Excellent, lovely, clean and spacious apartment. I wish we could have stayed here longer. We had to leave very early after staying here for 1 night. The service was brilliant with a full continental breakfast delivered to our door at a very early hour at our request.

Liane R – 6 July 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Our room was spotlessly clean, with a bedroom, separate toilet, shower room, mini kitchen area with tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs & two large settees to sit on, all beautifully decorated. We had booked a twilight spa package with included two treatments and a two course meal for a hen do. The food was fantastic and we all ended up having three courses. Those of us that stayed over had use of the spa facilities the next day along with an amazing brunch. The 20m pool was fantastic and to the side is a steam room and sauna. Out side is a small pretty garden that we used to sunbathe in and then cool off in the pool. There are also tennis courts and plenty of seating out side. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our evening special. A real little gem for ladies who want a pamper, couples to unwind or like us a hen party.

Cliff B – 17 June 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We regularly stay here for our quarterly business meetings in Colchester. The rooms are ‘old school’ (just as we like them!). The breakfast is a traditional English breakfast served in the proper manner and cooked using high quality ingredients. Sadly we are dieting so had to take the lower calorie options available :-( I was reluctant to write a review as I wanted to keep this gem of a hotel a secret. If you do decide to stay don’t forget the health club (good swimming pool) and as the grounds are extensive an evening walk is most definitely in order.

Retrospec51 – 15 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Delightful staff, beautiful bedrooms and a feeling that you ‘ve stepped back in time to when good manners and service was given and expected.
The staff are attentive but not intrusive, the food is great- don’t be concerned if you ‘re asked to take your meals in the bistro-it’s the same chef and the presentation is superb. The accomodation is 1st class, probably the most comfortable beds you could wish for and the bathrooms feature some of the original, decadent, super sized
baths combined with the modern luxury of ” rainforest “style showers. Great value.Great place.Great staff.

Racheldyandell – 14 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Prested hall for a family holiday in in may 2015. 

Although not part of the main building, the apartment was spacious and spotless with plenty of room for ourselves and three children. There were good kitchen facilities in the apartment although we did eat in the health club restaurant every night! 

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there always seemed to be cleaners or groundsmen doing something around the place! 

The food, cooked in the evening by the very friendly Italian chef, was delicious. And the breakfasts served over in the main hotel were also spot on (we did try every option on the menu!). 

Swimming pool is huge and the tennis courts were great.

Crystal – 8 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed for one night in one of the attic rooms, the room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated, lovely big bath and double shower, fluffy white dressing gowns and towels. It felt very homely and welcoming and had everything we needed. We went over to the Bistro for our evening meal the food was divine and the service was excellent we were made to feel very welcome very reasonably priced.

Ian C – 7 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Nice hotel with very large rooms. The hotel is clean and staff are very helpful and friendly. Set in large gardens with lovely views we enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was really tasty and checkout simple. There is also a leisure centre on site with good amenities.

SallySummers40 – 3 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Prested hall is my favourite hotel in Essex. I have visited six times and plan to go back next month. The pool is lovely,the rooms are nice. It’s quiet the beds are comfy. Great break from the children and I love it.

Sarah C – 3 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have now visited this hotel a couple of times in May this year and December of last year with my boyfriend for Birthday and Xmas presents. It is a lovely hotel and spa venue. The grounds are beautiful and the afternoon tea is reasonably priced and lovely. This is a fantastic place to take a special break, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel..

Jim M – 26 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Night one was a two bedroom apartment, 2 adults 2 teenagers… perfect room, had everything we needed. Night two was the fantastic two double rooms and a single room Attic Suite in the main hotel….. on the Saturday morning we were rushing a bit sorting out wedding bits. The staff moved all our belongings from the apartment to the Attic Suite while we were at the wedding….. absolutely superb service.
The Staff…… from the event manager to the late night barman (he was a star), they made an already perfect day just brilliant, the service was faultless and a credit to Prested Hall.

Dogdad – 24 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I stayed just one night as I had to be in the area next day. From start to finish it was a pleasure. A charming lady on reception, Í was led to a most attractive room where everything worked and was in perfect order. Breakfast next day was moast appealing and I was made to feel welcome.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel to anyone.

Ian W – 22 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed only one night as we were attending a family wedding. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was excellent with it’s own parking area.  The hotel was entirely given over to the wedding and everything was very well organised.  A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.

Ferlynne F – 11 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Just used this as a pad really as visiting Colchester very briefly to visit the Zoo (which is amazing), but the hotel looked lovely and very grand. Our apartment was above the leisure facilities, (we did not use the facilities in the gym so cannot comment) it was very clean and had everything you could possibly need for a short stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked lovely. The hotel is very well situated off the main road down a long impressive driveway (very quiet you would not know the road was there). Very handy for Colchester just 10 mins away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend Prested Hall Hotel.

Barbara K – 3 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We both had a lovely time, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. We ventured over to the Leisure club for an afternoon swim on our day of arrival and also used it before we left for home the following day. All the staff in the Hall and Leisure club were very polite and made us feel very welcome. We shall certainly visit again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Brian W – 16 March 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Just had a wonderful weekend at Prested Hall. Booked at the last minute but the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We had the attic suite and what a great place! Made full use of the pool and health club. Food was good, espeically breakfast on Sunday and all the staff were happy and only too glad to help. A real change these days. 

Tazzy – 1 March 2015 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

Best night’s sleep – fantastic! What a gem this is one of the best places we have stayed it has so much character with all the original fixtures and history with the lovely big fireplaces and beautiful grounds the swimming pool and sauna and steam room adds that extra special break the staff especially Melissa at reception who was remarkably polite and helpful . Breakfast was wonderful with continental and the best fresh orange juice and a choice of cooked breakfast too at no extra charge all staff have very good hospitality and where very helpful will defiantly be booking again amazing place to stay felt like royalty cannot fault anything

Cols17 – 25th February 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Fabulous stay! We stayed here for one night and can’t fault this hotel at all!!!
Room was lovely, staff are so friendly and attentive and the breakfast was so delicious!!!
We loved it so much we booked our wedding here for next year, can’t wait to spend out special day in such a special place.

Danielle N – 21st February 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We had our reception here after having our ceremony at a castle. Prested hall was stunning everything looked beautiful and the staff were so helpful, all the rooms, the food and services was outstanding and it was a perfect end to the perfect day. Everyone of my guest commented on how beautiful it was and on how nice the staff were. Myself and my husband were looked after from the second we booked our wedding and Kathryn was there to help us every step of the way, I could not recommend prested hall and their staff more. They gave us outstanding service and helped make our special day perfect and we would highly recommended this venue to any couples looking to get married

Mr & Mrs Cooper – 9 October 2014 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
Having been flooded out I moved into one of their apartments a couple of weeks ago. The apartment is well furnished, clean and has a lot of space with a huge lounge diner. The shower is very good and the towels are to die for, fluffy and deep and very absorbent. For food you can cook for yourself or use the adjacent health club restaurant which has a menu that changes on a daily basis and the food is wonderful.
Marie – 27 September 2014 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
Found this hotel by accident as we were looking for a hotel to stay in overnight in the area. It was booked without knowing much about it. When we arrived we realised we had booked a gem. Hotel and room were fabulous. Food was freshly prepared and extremely tasty, and the veg had came from the hotels garden. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in. It is also set in its own peaceful grounds. Fantastic place to stay after a hectic few days traveling.
Patricia and John – 17 July 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
Thank you for a brilliant stay. We loved our room, the delicious ever-changing menu in the Bistro and the wonderful peace and quiet. The swimming pool is simply the best of any indoor pool I’ve ever used. And congratulations to all the staff for their amazing unobtrusive care. Much appreciated.

Lorna – 1 July 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
Absolutely lovely room for a very reasonable price. Would definitely come back. Helpful staff and a very pleasant stay!

Frances N – 5 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
We had an excellent stay and we will return. Lovely rooms, comfy beds, yummy biscuits and breakfast. The only niggle was that we were disturbed by music but we reported it to reception and the problem was resolved. Many thanks!

Gwen and Michael – 15 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
We enjoyed everything from the lovely staff, accommodation, food, room and comfy bed, and beautiful surroundings. I could go on and on. Bless you all.

Sarah and Sean – 18 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
A great, friendly welcoming place with warm staff and atmosphere. We can’t wait for our wedding here on 12th August! Thank you for a lovely evening.

Mike and Freddie K – 22 May 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

This is a hotel we would come back to as both my wife and I enjoyed our stay with you. The level of service from all the staff was first class.


Laura C – 16 May 2014 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
A Birthday to remember. Brilliant venue. My sister and I celebrated our birthday here with massages and afternoon tea and a swim. Excellent service , very friendly, afternoon tea is yummy and very good value for money. Will return in the near future.

Audra – 7 April 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Great customer service. Setting very rustic, intimate and comfortable. Beautiful room and great ambience. Thank you.


Jill – 4 April 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Prested Hall certainly is “just that little bit different”. From the minute we arrived, we were impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The jazz event with Sarah Jane Morris was fantastic. And the food, wow! It far exceeded expectations. We are looking forward to visiting again.


Mrs Chamberlain – 28 March 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Lovely and warm room with a super comfortable bed. A lovely view from room 6. Excellent breakfast, superb biscuits and coffee. Well appointed bathroom and great staff.


Annie – 21 March 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Thank you for our stay at Prested Hall. We enjoyed out visit and the staff were extremely helpful. We will be recommending Prested to our friends!

Simon – 21 December 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Lovely mattress. Bedding generally excellent. Nice room. Good breakfast (black pudding just right).


Alan – 14 December 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Great country House Hotel. Well-appointed rooms. Great Romantic weekend retreat. And the best breakfast I have ever had.


Melanie – 10 December 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Everything, fantastic location, room was amazing, everything you could want and more, well worth the price paid!


Mary – 5 December 2013 from Hotel Reviews

The peace and quiet, clean and comfortable, surroundings, range of facilities, good value and delicious food, efficient and friendly service-everything!


Rupert – 20 October 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Excellent gym and pool facilities. Food at the Bistro was superb and incredible value. Staff were very friendly and the rooms are beautifully furnished


Iain – 22 September 2013 from Hotel Reviews

I love this hotel it is a very nice old building, lovely rooms, and excellent breakfast!


Martin – 5 July 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Second time I’ve stayed at Prested Hall – looking forward to the third already. Top marks all round – lovely setting, beautiful rooms, great health club, fantastic food, friendly people, easy access. I was staying overnight on business, but vowed to return with my wife for a relaxing weekend away. 10/10.


Janet – 4 July 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Great location, Really comfortable bed. Good bar. Great food. Helpful staff. Lovely grounds.


Ian – 8 June 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Friendly staff, lovely room with comfy bed. Great breakfast. Excellent location.


Iain – 18 May 2013 from Hotel Reviews

I love this hotel, very good rooms and helpful staff. Plenty of style Thank you


13 May 2013 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

A lovely cared for historic building, nice clean comfortable room with luxurious bathroom.  Some nice touches in the room to make our stay more enjoyable.  Leisure club was really nice for a swim and the food there was fantastic value for money.


Tracy – 13 May 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Lovely atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and we felt very relaxed there. Beautifully decorated with lovely furnishings.


11 May 2013 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

Lovely atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming.  The room was very comfortable and we felt very relaxed there. Beautifully decorated with lovely furnishings.


Adrian – 11 May 2013 from Hotel Reviews

A lovely cared for historic building, nice clean comfortable room with luxurious bathroom. Some nice touches in the room to make our stay more enjoyable. Leisure club was really nice for a swim and the food there was fantastic value for money.


9 May 2013 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

Fantastic location.  Beautiful grounds, high quality accommodation, personable, helpful staff.


9 May 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Every member of staff we have met have been fantastic, especially Maree who has been outstanding.  Breakfast and service have been fantastic.  Have been made to feel comfortable the moment we arrived (the atmosphere).  Beds were so amazingly comfortable which is very important.

Spa treatment by the beautician was to die for . . . she made the whole experience wonderful/relaxing for a first time spa goer.  We will not hesitate to recommend the hotel and spa to family and friends, and we will be coming back later this year.


Mervyn – 4 May 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Fantastic location Beautiful grounds High quality accommodation Personable, helpful staff.


25 April 2013 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

Excellent service provided by the hotel – the conference room facilities were very good, food great and the staff extremely helpful and attentive. Rooms had character and were comfortable. I would definitely recommend using Prested Hall for any forthcoming corporate events.


15 April 2013 from Hotel Reviews comment card

Spent the day at Prested Hall for a friend’s wedding.  The venue is beautiful and the rooms are very clean and well presented.


11 April 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Many thanks for a very comfortable stay.  Bed was very comfortable.  Lovely cup of tea this morning.  Very nice indeed.


3 April 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Fabulous room, wonderful staff, brilliant brekkie!  We will tell all of our friends and family that you’re a ‘must visit’.  Thank you


10 March 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Very clean and cosy rooms; polite and cheerful staff.  Lovely facilities with the pool etc.  Should be a 4 star hotel not a 3.  Very nice to have proper coffee in room.


17 February 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

We had a very pleasant stay.  The room was exceptionally nice.  The food was excellent and staff were very efficient and friendly.  Would like to stay again.


29 January 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Thank you all so much for a fantastic few days we have had at the Hotel.  Staff have all been very helpful – treatments in the Spa superb.  We all hope to return again soon and will be sure to tell friends about our time at Prested Hall.


Tanya – 16 January 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Stayed in room 1, which was fabulous. Bath was amazing for two with luxury bathrobes. Lovely luxury service and beautiful surroundings. Amazing spa. Breakfast was fabulous too! Thanks very much!


Jackie – 15 January 2013 from Hotel Reviews

The relaxed atmosphere, the little touches of elegance, the helpful and friendly staff, the surroundings, and the room was indeed ‘my favourite room’.


Catherine – 3 January 2013 from Hotel Reviews

Great room Lovely bathroom and bath Old world style


January 2013 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Loved it!  Very relaxing and unobtrusive!  Staff extremely friendly.  Look forward to returning.


Steven – 22 December 2012 from Hotel Reviews

It is just a very peaceful place to stay after a long day of work & travel.


L & T – 6 July 2012 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

A little oasis in the heart of Essex.  We have had such a fantastic time, relaxing, warm and friendly.

Thank you to all the staff from the housekeepers, waitresses, Gary, the gardener, reception, chef.  It has been so welcoming and a real family atmosphere.  We shall certainly be back.  Thank you for all your hard work and help.


CM – 3 July 2012 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

My friends booked a two day stay for my hen party. We had a fantastic time thanks to the unbelievable service we received from start to finish from the wonderful staff. The food was lovely and they even provided me with my own vegan and wheat free menu. The spa was relaxing and the girls there were both professional and friendly. The apartments were perfect and more than you would expect. Overall, a fantastic hotel to go to if you want to celebrate something. I’d like to go back there again soon!


TR – 8 July 2012 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

“Superb place to stay”

I had booked a two night stay mid-week. It was full of charm and character. It had a wonderfull family feel to the place. I have never felt so relaxed. The food was mouth-watering and absolutely delicious and the staff were so lovely, friendly and helpful. They always had a welcoming smile.The bed was so comfortable as indeed were the rooms. We had a lovely walk round the grounds which were kept immaculate. We could not fault anything. Thank you to all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.


MN – 8th June 2012 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews


“Old world charm & great service”

This was a planned stopover on a long journey, but always try to find a non-chain hotel when possible. The odd comment on here about being ‘run down’ are people not really understanding that not all hotels are new & shiny. Indeed this hotel boasts genuine patina of age and has been sympathetically renovated using lots of original or I imagine reclaimed materials. This means it is full of character. It was a family home for decades and there are fascinating photo’s and history on display in the entrance hall. Old buildings and properties are always on going works. It is very clean and the staff were extremely helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Genuine customer service. The food was beautifully cooked and the surroundings are lovely. The library is brilliant with lots of fascinating old books on various subjects. There is a DVD player and a stack of DVD’s if you want plus up to date magazines. All the things you won’t find in a chain hotel. It is very welcoming and one feels comfortable immediately. I would not hesitate to recommend to a friend.


LM – 31st May 2012 from Trip Advisor Hotel Reviews



We loved this place. Fabulous building in superb grounds. Our room was spotless and had great attention to detail. Realised the food would be good when I saw there were only a few choices on the menu (meaning freshly cooked). It was excellent. Service was good too. We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.


Peter – 7th June 2012 from Hotel Reviews

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon hungry, alas no food to be seen, but an extremely kind member of staff had a word with the kitchen and they rustled up a couple of sandwiches (very nicely presented) to our room – very much appreciated.


Mr A – 4th June 2012 Hotel Reviews

Thanks you. An enjoyable day, especially the history in your guest folder. Room spotless. A credit to you and your staff.


CM – 18 April 2012 Hotel Reviews

This has been a simply stunning and most enjoyable stay! Luxurious and elegant throughout. Enormous bed was really comfortable. Enjoyed the interesting furniture. Many little touches – toast racks, tissues, cafetiere all most welcome. Food absolutely delicious. We will be back!! Thank you everyone.


RV – 29 May 2012 Hotel Reviews

We are thrilled to have found this place and hope to return in the not too distant future. We would definitely recommend it to others. The setting is beautiful. The hotel is clean and welcoming. The meals were superb. Just wish we were staying longer.


KT – 6 June 2012 PARC Essex, Charity dinner and dance Hotel Reviews

Everybody had an amazing time, some are saying it was the best one so far so thank you to all at Prested! Hope we were all ok on the night and there wasn’t too many demands made of you?! If there was you handled them brilliantly. Huge thanks again.


AE – 25 May 2012 Thorpe Greenways Primary School,  Hotel Reviews

What a great venue, we were exceptionally pleased with what turned out to be a very productive conference.


Victoria – April 2012 from Hotel Reviews

I would not fault Prested Hall on anything. The scenery and setting were stunning, the rooms spotless, the staff couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful. You would never think how close it is to the motorway, it was so peaceful. Absolutely beautiful.


RC – April 2012 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“Excellent dining! Luxurious comfort! Highly recommended”

We stayed as a couple for a night at Prested on Good Friday this year, after I had found it during research a couple of years ago and always wanted to stay there.

Our double was upgraded on arrival, therefore not only did we benefit from a very reasonable Good Friday overnight rate of DBB at £120 per room/couple, but also from upgraded facilities.

I cannot fault the accommodation – a suite with some nice original features, an extremely comfortable king size bed and a large grand bathroom with an extra long bath. There was a good view of the grounds and river, ducks and geese, giving it an overall relaxed feel of the countryside.

Dinner was excellent, with three course choices in each category, and service of which involved excellent timing and a friendly approachable feel. The food was extremely well cooked and presented, delicious and of excellent quality. We had tea in the library, of which guests had use, and which was extremely relaxing, and the following morning’s breakfast was superb, with an excellent range of both hot and cold food. I particularly appreciated the very fresh nuts which were part of the muesli on offer, and the poached egg accompanying the undyed smoked haddock was soft, and the coffee of a good quality.

Prested Hall’s receptionist was one of the friendliest and most approachable I have ever encountered, and should be commended. The environment inside the hotel is beautiful, and extremely luxurious and comfortable, with masses of atmosphere and a really aged feel to it.  It’s a pretty impressive property, with a very comprehensive history which is covered in the guests’ information book in each room. The bar and serving staff were all lovely, and the service impeccable without being too formal.

If I were to recommend any advances to this extremely high standard, I would add that perhaps lighting in the dining room during the evening be toned down to a more ‘romantic’ level, and the choice of television channels be upgraded to include Sky channels. Otherwise, it was a wonderful stay, at a very affordable price, and I would highly recommend Prested Hall.


Joachim – March 2012 from Hotel Reviews

Very nice and comfortable hotel. The rooms are of high standard and WiFi is free. Whilst it is directly on a main A-Road and very easy to find, it is far enough removed into its own grounds that there isn’t any road noise. The breakfast was very good too and all good value for money.


Clive – March 2012 from Hotel Reviews

The staff were friendly and explained that dining that evening was in the sports facility which dismayed me a little. It shouldn’t have, I had an excellent feta salad starter and stir fried pork main with beer for £15.00 whilst watching real tennis!! A great end to a busy day. The English Breakfast next day was high standard, served in a light and airy morning room, overlooking the half moat and farmland beyond. Definitely will return. Would make an ideal weekend break for a sports mad family.


HR – March 2012 from Hotel Reviews

This hotel couldn’t be more perfect. It’s intimate, beautiful and has history flowing out of every beam. The gardens are truly beautiful surrounding the dining room with a perfect backdrop. The food was truly exquisite with attentive but not overbearing staff in the restaurant. Thank you for such a relaxing weekend.


Phil – February 2012 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“A fabulous venue”

We first became aware of Prested Hall when my son booked his wedding at the hall. The organisation was excellent. The food and service were excellent. The rooms were comfortable and inviting. I was so impressed I have joined the Prested Hall fitness centre and visit three times a week.


Ann – January 2012 from tripadvisor  Hotel Reviews

“Son had his wedding there in November 2011 ………”

……… and the day was perfection. Food first class! Staff first class! Venue superb. Rooms were individual and very very comfortable. Have since been there for afternoon tea which was taken in the library area and was a delight. Can’t recommend Prested Hall enough. Go there, lunch, dinner, afternoon tea and try it.You will not be disappointed !


BB – January 2012 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“Great for functions”

I’ve not stayed at Prested Hall hotel, but have eaten here at a number of functions. Very warm and welcoming on arrival, lovely wooden entrance area with bar through to wide sitting area/hall. All the meals I’ve had have been in the function room which I guess must cater for around 80 people. The food has been delicious, and great friendly service.


SB – November 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Excellent ‘Step-off-the-planet’ night away
We booked the night before arriving and took potluck going by previous reviews and price.
We were more than pleasantly surprised on our arrival and throughout our stay. The food was outstanding and the room was tiptop! We will DEFINITELY return with friends and family.


Elizabeth – October 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Very comfortable beds and rooms. Quiet (although can hear A12 in the distance but not intrusive). Very good spa and huge pool in club next door where you can also get excellent light meals. Very handy for city centre yet in a parkland setting. Very helpful friendly staff.


Tina – October 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Really lovely place to say. Exceptionally clean and no money is spared on home comforts in the rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. The added bonus was the lovely swimming pool with steam room and sauna. I was there on a one off trip for business, however, I plan on taking my children back for a stay to include a trip to Colchester Zoo. I would recommend this place to anyone.


JD – September 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Lovely and cosy hotel with friendly staff and great swimming pool
We really enjoyed our stay at Prested Hall. The staff were friendly and polite. The room and hotel were clean, cosy and comfortable, although not especially luxurious. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The relaxing pool plus steam room and sauna really made it special, and particularly good value.


D. Johnson – August 2011 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Took my Mum for her Birthday. 4 of us went and stayed in a beautiful 2 bed apartment overlooking the tennis courts. Lovely staff, stunning grounds and a very relaxing atmosphere. Food was delicious and the treatments were total bliss. Can’t wait to go again! Thanks to all at Prested! X

CB – August 2011 from Hotel Reviews

100% top marks for this fantastic hotel
faultless……….clean, modern, peaceful, excellent service, very tasty breakfast with great choice….BEST HOTEL STAY EVER….so far!! you won’t be disappointed!!! will be visiting back one day!!


Sara – August 2011 from Hotel Reviews

I chose Prested Hall as I wanted to go somewhere where there were spa facilities and I could go for walks. I was a solo traveller and was having a break (time away for me) and wanted to feel safe in the environment. Prested Hall is a beautiful hotel and I was made to feel welcome. It was nice being able to wander around the grounds when I wanted. The room was lovely and spacious. Staff were pleasant and had time to have a chat. The food was nice too. I would recommend this hotel and hope to go back with my partner and daughter in the future. Thank you.


LA – July 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Wow, beautiful hotel, room was huge, bathroom even bigger. Food was sooo tasty and was able to have as room service. Bed was sooooooo comfortable and the linen was out of this world …. Shame I have to tell people about it as my new found gem.


CP – June 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Stay recommended
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was clean and the bathroom newly renovated. Breakfast was great, fresh, hot and very tasty. Thank you, I can definitely say that I will be back.


JM – April 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Four of us stayed at Prested Hall in the two bed apartment, it was very clean and comfortable, lounge area, kitchenette, good shower, very comfortable clean beds, would return anytime.


KQ – January 2011 from Hotel Reviews

Laid back stay in a very cosy quaint hotel.
Quiet hotel with good service as well as excellent sport facilities. Good local walks with interesting villages and watering holes.


Carol – October 2011 from Hotel Reviews

My two bedroom suite in the attic, very well appointed, clean, no lift, but luggage will be taken up. Staff professional and friendly. The dining room seemed very sparse, however I didn’t see it at full flow for dinner, only at breakfast. Breakfast of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was perfection, I haven’t eaten any better anywhere. A very minor niggle I had with the shower room was dealt with by the duty manager promptly and courteously. All in all a good comfortable place to stay and happy to recommend.


James – April 2012 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“Absolutely fantastic getaway for a romantic night”

I was looking for a romantic venue for a night away and came across this hotel and, more specifically, ‘The Dingle’ which is a cottage for two set apart from the main hotel. The cottage is perfect for those that don’t want to be disturbed. It is furnished to a high standard as you would expect.

The night we stayed, there wasn’t a wedding being hosted so the restaurant and bar were nice a quiet with excellent service – not sure how a large wedding would affect this. The food was cooked perfectly. I can’t comment on breakfast as we opted out.

I think we will definitely be returning at least once a year!


Colin – March 2012 from tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

“Character venue”

Set in gloriously beautiful grounds with a very long sweeping drive, Prested Hall has a calming atmosphere from the word go. “Old English” would best describe the decor and very comfortable it is with soft welcoming couches and plenty of small coffee type tables to help you settle down – just like home. The food is very tasty and the staff very friendly and helpful.


Tracey – March 2012 from Hotel Reviews

“Excellent Conference Facilities”

W e have just come back from an away day at Prested Hall and we can’t thank them enough. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The room we booked was bright, airy and overlooked the grounds to the rear of the property. The food was excellent and plentiful.

We would definitely use Prested Hall again. Thank you very much.


Mark – February 2012 from Hotel Reviews:

“All round excellence”

Myself and my partner had a spa weekend at prested hall. We were put in the dingle room, which is like a mini cottage on its own about 100 yards from the main hotel, the room was lovely and bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and we were even able to request certain meals as my partner is a vegetarian. The spa is nice, they have a large pool and sauna. We both had massages and found them so relaxing. Overall a great stay and the snow made it even prettier.


Katy – February 2012 from Hotel Reviews

“Excellent stay and great value for money”

We had an amazing stay here, i stayed in a standard twin with my mum and the room was very clean, beds were comfy and great location. We got the room last minute at a great price! This hotel would be great for a couples weekend break very romantic with the log fire! It also would be a perfect location for a wedding. Also the breakfast was amazing with loads of choice, I had salmon and scrambled eggs it was gorgeous. 100% recommend this hotel, I will defo be visiting again.


Bob – January 2012 from Hotel Reviews

“Fantastic venue – lovely staff . . . faultless!”

We were looking for a venue for a ‘big’ birthday party – somewhere special that would hold 130+ people, and where lots of people could could stay over. We looked at a number of the larger chain hotels, but as soon as we stepped through the door, my wife was hooked on Prested Hall. We took over the complete hotel, including The Dingle (wonderful little bungalow in the grounds) and all rooms in the Club, and hosted breakfast at the Hall the following morning for those that stayed in other hotels.
The whole event was absolutely superb ! Karen organised the event perfectly – even the last minute glitches that could have spoiled the whole thing were ironed out in what appeared to be an effortless way. The rest of the staff were efficiently and friendly – nothing was too much trouble. In summary, we’re left with some wonderful memories of a party that was really well-organised, and in a lovely, homely venue. When you’re planning an important event, you need to be confident that the venue that you choose will handle things in the way that you want. From our experience, Prested Hall will do so.


Tony – November 2011 from Hotel Reviews

“Still Fantastic”

We first stayed at Prested Hall in July 2010 and now again in November 2011. It is so lovely there. The building is impressive, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful, the room lovely, the food excellent, all of which mean that it is excellent value for money.

Driving through the grounds of the hotel, we saw pheasants, partridges and squirrels. Only a few hundred yards from the busy A12 and it is like stepping into another world. The building is old and you will experience sloping floors and ceilings and hear lots of creaking floorboards. Real character – great atmosphere.

I am including a picture of the bedroom. If you have experienced anything better than this for under £100 per night (weekend rate) then I will be amazed. The bathroom was even more spectacular.

I cannot sing the praises of the hotel enough so you must visit it yourself to understand why I am so much of a fan.


Comments are closed.