hotels reviews in colchester essex

A collection of reviews from guests who have stayed with us:

Bailiesusan – 9th November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Tranquil setting, beautiful country house hotel set in beautiful grounds.  Just spent overnight with my husband in this beautiful country House Hotel/Spa. Our room was a standard double,enjoying views over fields and the duck pond complete with swans.Beautiful crisp white Bed linen, very comfortable. Room was cosy but full of charm. Excellent ensuite. Very spacious and modern. Bath with shower over. Water lovely and hot and shower pressure excellent. Towels were provided. Small t.v. In the room which was perfectly adequate for our needs. Room was very warm and cosy. We made full use of the spa facilities which included heated swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Beauty treatments available at extra cost obviously but best massage had for long time. Thank you goes to Sam. Pedicure and facial all rounded my relaxing time. Food was very good as well. Breakfast was served in the main hotel which again was fantastic. Choice of full English, vegetarian options, eggs Benedict etc., also continental with fruit, cereal, toasts, croissants, pastries ooh the list goes on. Excellent. Plenty of places to find a quiet corner for after dinner drinks. Enjoy

TrevorTHammond – 9th November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Amazing hotel, spa, restaurant, bistro, tennis club, the list goes on!….

I’ve stayed here on numerous occasions and completely love everything about it.
On my first visit I had a dinner with my parents. It was one of their special themed events with scenes from Fawlty Towers being acted out during the dinner. It was like being in the TV program and the actors were awesome. After this visit, I had a spa day with massage, facial, brunch and swam and played tennis. I also had an introductory Real Tennis lesson and have been hooked ever since!
I strongly recommend all the facilities at Prested Hall and would encourage anyone to visit!

Room Tip: Rooms to suit everyone, including families with family suites and 2 bedroom apartments.

Chris W – 2nd November 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Amazing stay.  Most relaxed I’ve felt in a long time and the bed wow!!!!!! The staff were very friendly and the food was delivered to our door. I really can’t thank Prested enough. We used the spa in the morning and again it was clean and well worth the visit we shall be staying again soon!

Carolyne S –  26th October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Birthday party for Nanna.  I want to say a massive thank you to all the staff at Prested Hall. The setting is stunning, the service was so very attentive and the tea was amazing.
It looked so beautiful on the plates 
The string trio playing was a perfect accompaniment to the afternoon. We had a table near the window so had a gorgeous view of the moat. It’s definitely one of the best teas I’ve had.

Lisa C – 20 October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I’ve just returned from my second stay this year at Prested Hall and would certainly recommend it.
I booked a three night break. with a friend. During our stay we had a lovely pamper day in the spa using all the facilities on offer. We ate in the Bistro for both lunch and dinner, had breakfast in the hotel and afternoon tea on the day we arrived. We were offered a wide choice of food, all of which was faultless.
Every member of staff without exception were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. 
Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day. All areas of the hotel spotless.
With lots to do in the surrounding area, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Prested Hall and certainly plan to return again soon.

Becky G – 20 October 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

My partner booked this for my birthday, wow! Was really impressed as soon as we drove up the long drive. 
Found all the staff to be really friendly and our room was beautiful, with the biggest bed I have ever slept in! The bathroom was lovely with an enormous bath, the room had all the little extra’s I like, bathrobes, slippers, tea/coffee facility.  Fresh flowers in the room were also lovely. 
We stayed on a DBB basis, although it would have been nice to have dinner in the actual hotel it was only a short walk to the leisure centre where we had a 3 course meal, delicious. Breakfast was really good too, the usual cereals, croissants, yougurts and fruit were laid out and a menu for cooked breakfast, both impressed with our cooked breakfasts.  I imagine a wedding here would be stunning.  I would highly recommend.

Maureen B – 30th September via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Great venue, never had a bad experience! Have been there a number of times, from Weddings and my husband’s 70th, to a Fawlty Towers Night. The food is always excellent, as is the service. The location is lovely and they have kept many features of this old building. They have accommodation, a Bistro and a sports cementer/swimming pool. Plenty of parking. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Chauntel B – 29 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Arrived at the hotel to be greeting by very friendly staff who then took us to our 2 bedroom apartment for the weekend. The apartment was spacious and immaculate. Even though there was a wedding taking place we did not feel neglected as guests. Brunch was included in the price and the menu had a wide variety to choose from. The food quality was very good and kitchen staff were very accommodating. I would recommend Pressed Hall to families and couples. Overall an excellent experience.

Espinavessa – 29 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We enjoyed a lovely meal, with the ‘murder mystery’ being acted out between courses. It was very entertaining and a very different dining experience! We all really enjoyed the evening.
Prested Hall is a lovely small country hotel – beautiful rooms in a very quirky layout. Very pleasant grounds with a spa in a separate building .My granddaughter is getting married there in November and its a perfect venue for a wedding. We went to the wedding breakfast trial evening, and the food was excellent and the portions generous. 
Prested Hall is highly recommended by all our family.

Lynn C – 4 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have stayed here a few times now, in different rooms each time, and all have been lovely. The one bedroom apartment I had this time was bright, spacious, clean and very comfortable.
I have previously stayed in a room in the old hall which was full of character (beams and sloping floors) and in the Dingle – a detached cottage room which felt like something out of a fairy story! Service is excellent and food in the leisure club is very good. Lovely grounds for a stroll too and leisure facilities which I haven’t yet sampled. As a lone traveler this is a very comfortable place to stay.

Linda – 4 September 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We have stayed a Prested Hall on several occasions, the rooms are wonderful with lovely comfortable beds, the bathrooms are large and really nice, for breakfast there is everything you could want, from a selection of hot dishes to pastries and cereals.  The spa treatments are excellent. The food is outstanding.

Emma E – 24 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I just stayed here with some friends for a spa break and i cannot fault this place at all. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, the spa treatments we had were great and if you stay you get a extra 20% off the price which made the cost really resonable.
Our apartment was clean and tidy and the bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in! Would recommend this place to anyone and will be going back, hopefully soon!

north0072 – 23 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have now visited prested hall twice and on both occasions I have had beautiful rooms and excellent food.
The leisure complex is also great for food.
I will definetly be staying again, the hotel is set in such beautiful surroundings

599Jane – 10 August 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Excellent, lovely, clean and spacious apartment. I wish we could have stayed here longer. We had to leave very early after staying here for 1 night. The service was brilliant with a full continental breakfast delivered to our door at a very early hour at our request.

Liane R – 6 July 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Our room was spotlessly clean, with a bedroom, separate toilet, shower room, mini kitchen area with tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs & two large settees to sit on, all beautifully decorated. We had booked a twilight spa package with included two treatments and a two course meal for a hen do. The food was fantastic and we all ended up having three courses. Those of us that stayed over had use of the spa facilities the next day along with an amazing brunch. The 20m pool was fantastic and to the side is a steam room and sauna. Out side is a small pretty garden that we used to sunbathe in and then cool off in the pool. There are also tennis courts and plenty of seating out side. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our evening special. A real little gem for ladies who want a pamper, couples to unwind or like us a hen party.

Cliff B – 17 June 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We regularly stay here for our quarterly business meetings in Colchester. The rooms are ‘old school’ (just as we like them!). The breakfast is a traditional English breakfast served in the proper manner and cooked using high quality ingredients. Sadly we are dieting so had to take the lower calorie options available :-( I was reluctant to write a review as I wanted to keep this gem of a hotel a secret. If you do decide to stay don’t forget the health club (good swimming pool) and as the grounds are extensive an evening walk is most definitely in order.

Retrospec51 – 15 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Delightful staff, beautiful bedrooms and a feeling that you ‘ve stepped back in time to when good manners and service was given and expected.
The staff are attentive but not intrusive, the food is great- don’t be concerned if you ‘re asked to take your meals in the bistro-it’s the same chef and the presentation is superb. The accomodation is 1st class, probably the most comfortable beds you could wish for and the bathrooms feature some of the original, decadent, super sized
baths combined with the modern luxury of ” rainforest “style showers. Great value.Great place.Great staff.

Racheldyandell – 14 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Prested hall for a family holiday in in may 2015. 

Although not part of the main building, the apartment was spacious and spotless with plenty of room for ourselves and three children. There were good kitchen facilities in the apartment although we did eat in the health club restaurant every night! 

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there always seemed to be cleaners or groundsmen doing something around the place! 

The food, cooked in the evening by the very friendly Italian chef, was delicious. And the breakfasts served over in the main hotel were also spot on (we did try every option on the menu!). 

Swimming pool is huge and the tennis courts were great.

Crystal – 8 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed for one night in one of the attic rooms, the room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated, lovely big bath and double shower, fluffy white dressing gowns and towels. It felt very homely and welcoming and had everything we needed. We went over to the Bistro for our evening meal the food was divine and the service was excellent we were made to feel very welcome very reasonably priced.

Ian C – 7 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Nice hotel with very large rooms. The hotel is clean and staff are very helpful and friendly. Set in large gardens with lovely views we enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was really tasty and checkout simple. There is also a leisure centre on site with good amenities.

SallySummers40 – 3 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Prested hall is my favourite hotel in Essex. I have visited six times and plan to go back next month. The pool is lovely,the rooms are nice. It’s quiet the beds are comfy. Great break from the children and I love it.

Sarah C – 3 May 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I have now visited this hotel a couple of times in May this year and December of last year with my boyfriend for Birthday and Xmas presents. It is a lovely hotel and spa venue. The grounds are beautiful and the afternoon tea is reasonably priced and lovely. This is a fantastic place to take a special break, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel..

Jim M – 26 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Night one was a two bedroom apartment, 2 adults 2 teenagers… perfect room, had everything we needed. Night two was the fantastic two double rooms and a single room Attic Suite in the main hotel….. on the Saturday morning we were rushing a bit sorting out wedding bits. The staff moved all our belongings from the apartment to the Attic Suite while we were at the wedding….. absolutely superb service.
The Staff…… from the event manager to the late night barman (he was a star), they made an already perfect day just brilliant, the service was faultless and a credit to Prested Hall.

Dogdad – 24 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

I stayed just one night as I had to be in the area next day. From start to finish it was a pleasure. A charming lady on reception, Í was led to a most attractive room where everything worked and was in perfect order. Breakfast next day was moast appealing and I was made to feel welcome.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel to anyone.

Ian W – 22 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We stayed only one night as we were attending a family wedding. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was excellent with it’s own parking area.  The hotel was entirely given over to the wedding and everything was very well organised.  A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.

Ferlynne F – 11 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Just used this as a pad really as visiting Colchester very briefly to visit the Zoo (which is amazing), but the hotel looked lovely and very grand. Our apartment was above the leisure facilities, (we did not use the facilities in the gym so cannot comment) it was very clean and had everything you could possibly need for a short stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked lovely. The hotel is very well situated off the main road down a long impressive driveway (very quiet you would not know the road was there). Very handy for Colchester just 10 mins away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend Prested Hall Hotel.

Barbara K – 3 April 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We both had a lovely time, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. We ventured over to the Leisure club for an afternoon swim on our day of arrival and also used it before we left for home the following day. All the staff in the Hall and Leisure club were very polite and made us feel very welcome. We shall certainly visit again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Brian W – 16 March 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Just had a wonderful weekend at Prested Hall. Booked at the last minute but the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. We had the attic suite and what a great place! Made full use of the pool and health club. Food was good, espeically breakfast on Sunday and all the staff were happy and only too glad to help. A real change these days. 

Tazzy – 1 March 2015 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews

Best night’s sleep – fantastic! What a gem this is one of the best places we have stayed it has so much character with all the original fixtures and history with the lovely big fireplaces and beautiful grounds the swimming pool and sauna and steam room adds that extra special break the staff especially Melissa at reception who was remarkably polite and helpful . Breakfast was wonderful with continental and the best fresh orange juice and a choice of cooked breakfast too at no extra charge all staff have very good hospitality and where very helpful will defiantly be booking again amazing place to stay felt like royalty cannot fault anything

Cols17 – 25th February 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

Fabulous stay! We stayed here for one night and can’t fault this hotel at all!!!
Room was lovely, staff are so friendly and attentive and the breakfast was so delicious!!!
We loved it so much we booked our wedding here for next year, can’t wait to spend out special day in such a special place.

Danielle N – 21st February 2015 via Tripadvisor Hotel Reviews

We had our reception here after having our ceremony at a castle. Prested hall was stunning everything looked beautiful and the staff were so helpful, all the rooms, the food and services was outstanding and it was a perfect end to the perfect day. Everyone of my guest commented on how beautiful it was and on how nice the staff were. Myself and my husband were looked after from the second we booked our wedding and Kathryn was there to help us every step of the way, I could not recommend prested hall and their staff more. They gave us outstanding service and helped make our special day perfect and we would highly recommended this venue to any couples looking to get married

Mr & Mrs Cooper – 9 October 2014 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
Having been flooded out I moved into one of their apartments a couple of weeks ago. The apartment is well furnished, clean and has a lot of space with a huge lounge diner. The shower is very good and the towels are to die for, fluffy and deep and very absorbent. For food you can cook for yourself or use the adjacent health club restaurant which has a menu that changes on a daily basis and the food is wonderful.
Marie – 27 September 2014 via TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
Found this hotel by accident as we were looking for a hotel to stay in overnight in the area. It was booked without knowing much about it. When we arrived we realised we had booked a gem. Hotel and room were fabulous. Food was freshly prepared and extremely tasty, and the veg had came from the hotels garden. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in. It is also set in its own peaceful grounds. Fantastic place to stay after a hectic few days traveling.
Patricia and John – 17 July 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
Thank you for a brilliant stay. We loved our room, the delicious ever-changing menu in the Bistro and the wonderful peace and quiet. The swimming pool is simply the best of any indoor pool I’ve ever used. And congratulations to all the staff for their amazing unobtrusive care. Much appreciated.

Lorna – 1 July 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
Absolutely lovely room for a very reasonable price. Would definitely come back. Helpful staff and a very pleasant stay!

Frances N – 5 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
We had an excellent stay and we will return. Lovely rooms, comfy beds, yummy biscuits and breakfast. The only niggle was that we were disturbed by music but we reported it to reception and the problem was resolved. Many thanks!

Gwen and Michael – 15 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
We enjoyed everything from the lovely staff, accommodation, food, room and comfy bed, and beautiful surroundings. I could go on and on. Bless you all.

Sarah and Sean – 18 June 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card
A great, friendly welcoming place with warm staff and atmosphere. We can’t wait for our wedding here on 12th August! Thank you for a lovely evening.

Mike and Freddie K – 22 May 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

This is a hotel we would come back to as both my wife and I enjoyed our stay with you. The level of service from all the staff was first class.

 

Laura C – 16 May 2014 from TripAdvisor Hotel Reviews
A Birthday to remember. Brilliant venue. My sister and I celebrated our birthday here with massages and afternoon tea and a swim. Excellent service , very friendly, afternoon tea is yummy and very good value for money. Will return in the near future.

Audra – 7 April 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Great customer service. Setting very rustic, intimate and comfortable. Beautiful room and great ambience. Thank you.

 

Jill – 4 April 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Prested Hall certainly is “just that little bit different”. From the minute we arrived, we were impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The jazz event with Sarah Jane Morris was fantastic. And the food, wow! It far exceeded expectations. We are looking forward to visiting again.

 

Mrs Chamberlain – 28 March 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Lovely and warm room with a super comfortable bed. A lovely view from room 6. Excellent breakfast, superb biscuits and coffee. Well appointed bathroom and great staff.

 

Annie – 21 March 2014 from a Hotel Reviews comment card

Thank you for our stay at Prested Hall. We enjoyed out visit and the staff were extremely helpful. We will be recommending Prested to our friends!

Click here to see further comments about Prested Hall

 

Comments are closed.